Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Energy Research Centre

Inside the Energy Research Centre

The Energy Research Centre (ERC) is a four-storey, 9,290 square-metre building with unique capabilities and facilities in geothermal, hydraulic, hydrogen, natural gas, nuclear, solar and wind energy technologies. The ERC officially opened in November 2011 as a result of a joint $45.4 million investment from the federal and provincial governments through the Knowledge Infrastructure Program (KIP).

The KIP has enabled leading-edge research in clean energies and technologies to flourish within the ERC. The building also features a lecture theatre, tutorials rooms, study space for students and research labs for computational simulations in various engineering disciplines, including facilities for electrical power systems and Smart Grid research.