Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

General Information

At Ontario Tech, our students have a unique opportunity to study and learn from outstanding renowned professors in their field of interest, using world-class facilities and laboratories. These women and men will challenge and inspire you to push your own boundaries of thinking and learning while broadening your knowledge and understanding in your chosen field.

Our professors are also award-winning published authors with patents in areas such as software engineering. For example, Dr. Ramiro Liscano has patented new breakthrough technologies in distributed computing, communications and computer networking. When we think about computer communications, we generally think of streams of information flowing from one database or computer to another. The questions that Dr. Liscano poses are threefold: how do we find the information we need, how do we understand that information and how do we gain access to it? Important questions and issues for the software industry and Dr. Liscano is pursuing the answers, using his past research experience at the National Research Council of Canada and Mitel Networks.

Faculty members have also received major awards, including Dr. Ahmad Barari as the faculty advisor of the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) student team that received the Best Connections Project Award of the 2010 Ontario Centres of Excellence (OCE) Discovery Showcase. Ontario Tech’s Formula SAE team of automotive engineers designed and built a scaled-down Formula style car that helped them capture top prize at OCE. During the two-day event, members of Dr. Barari’s team presented the findings of their project entitled Mechanical Property Enhancement of a FSAE Body Structure Utilizing Composite Materials. The team effort was sponsored by industry partners Multimatic Technical Solutions Inc. of Markham, Ontario, and Durmach Tool and Die of Bowmanville, Ontario.

The faculty has also received major grants from such funding authorities as the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC). For example, Dr. Min Dong received major NSERC grants in electrical engineering entitled Resource-Constrained Communications and Networking through Adaptation and Cooperation as well as Cognitive Sensing for Dynamic Spectrum Access. Through her groundbreaking work on wireless communications, Dr. Dong’s research is significantly improving the signal quality, reducing the power consumed and fine tuning the capabilities of Canada’s wireless communications networks.